Oblivious

“…And finally, it’s time to stop running
Stop chasing love
It will come and stay someday, be patient
Stop running from the past
It helped create the person you are today, thank it
Stop running from your gifts
They were given to you for a reason
Acknowledge, embrace, and use them
Stop running from your destiny
Whether you want it to or not, it’s happening
May as well accept and have fun with it

Do these things and I thoroughly believe we’ll be happy
Healthy
Ambitious
Determined
Confident
And grow into the person we’re looking to become someday…”

– “To Silver Tongue, From Silver Tongue”
(June 2015)

To whomever may be reading this,
Thank you for actually stopping by and reading this! To be honest, this is all new to me so I have no idea what I’m doing. I took a visit to my old high school last week and my teacher said it would be a good idea to start a blog to get my name out there so here I am.

I guess it’d be a good idea to introduce myself, huh? Hi, my name is Christopher Collier (but Christopher usually means I’m in trouble so I just go by Chris). The excerpt you read at the top was a letter/poem I wrote to myself, encouraging myself to embrace my gift and love of writing. I don’t know if the idea was actually ridiculous or if it’s a normal thing to write to yourself sometimes but this poem is really important to me because it, no joke, changed everything for me. “Technically” I had been writing since 2013 but I didn’t take it seriously until I wrote this poem. Before this, I went by the name “Oblivious” and would always turn in my poems anonymously, if I turned them in at all. This poem was a promise to myself to be open and honest with myself regarding everything. Because of this, I’ve learned more about myself in these last two years than at any other point in my life. A brief list of my personal revelations include: I analyze and internalize a lot more often than I give myself credit for, I was (and still am sometimes, though I’m getting better with it) a people pleaser, and math and science are not NEARLY as fun career fields as I originally thought (I partially blame the first semester Neuroscience curriculum for that revelation as well).

What started out as a personal venting mechanism for me has become my anchor for staying sane through the trials and tribulations of both college and life itself. I’m doing things I couldn’t even dream of doing when I picked up the pen that cold October night in 2013. I won county slam and placed sixth in the state of Tennessee poetry slam in 2016, I’ve able to perform at private parties and be a guest speaker in a couple of high schools, I self-published a book, and next year I’m going to run a jazz club cafe as a co-host. All this and I don’t turn 19 until August haha!

So what’s the point of this blog? Well as I said earlier, I’m hoping to gain more exposure for what I do. I’ve seen firsthand how inspired people have felt after reading my writing and since my life goal is to help as many people as possible, I figure why not try the almighty internet. Secondly, I like to talk. It’s summer right now so I doubt I’ll be making update blogs for a little bit so for the time being, I’ll just tell stories about how I got to where I am now as a person and as a writer and see where that goes. Who knows? Maybe I’ll share some more writing on here too.

Thanks again for reading! I look forward to seeing how this all pans out.
Chris

(P.S. Yes I am aware I resemble Donald Glover aka Childish Gambino lol)

2 thoughts on “Oblivious

Leave a Reply

